INS 2014 Mid-Year Meeting
From Lab to Rehab

July 9-11, 2014
Jerusalem, Israel

Photograph courtesy of Noam Chen,

Jerusalem Awards

INS is pleased to announce the following awards, which will be given at the 2014 Mid-Year Meeting in Jerusalem. The INS congratulates the award winners for their excellence! Please note that all of the award-winning abstracts will be published online following the conclusion of the meeting in a supplement to JINS, Volume 20.

INS Major Awards

The INS Distinguished Career Award: Dan Hoofien
The INS will present its Distinguished Career Award to Professor Dan Hoofien in Jerusalem. This Award may be given to recognize individuals at or near the end of their careers who have made major, sustained contributions to the field of neuropsychology as well as to the INS. Click here to read more about Professor Hoofien's distinguished career.

The Paul Satz-INS Career Mentoring Award: Gina Geffen
Professor Gina Geffen has been named as the recipient of the Paul Satz-INS Career Mentoring Award. The Paul Satz-INS Career Mentoring Award, given in honor of Dr. Paul Satz and sponsored by PAR, Inc., is given to recognize mentoring and teaching activities that have profoundly impacted the careers of students in the field of neuropsychology. Click here to read more about Professor Geffen's excellence in teaching and mentoring activities.

Jerusalem Program Awards

Program awards are selected by the Program Committee to recognize the most outstanding scientific contributions at the Annual and Mid-Year Meetings. These include the Nelson Butters Award for outstanding submission by a postdoctoral fellow, the Phillip M. Rennick Award for outstanding submission by a graduate student, the Laird S. Cermak Award for the best submission in the field of memory or memory disorders, and the new Marit Korkman Award for outstanding pediatric neuropsychology submission at Mid-Year by a student. The INS SLC also recognizes five students for their outstanding submissions through the SLC Student Research Awards.

The Marit Korkman Award: Sarit Rotem
"Asymmetric Attention Networks: The Case Of Children"
(S. Yaakoby-Rotem, R. Geva)

The Marit Korkman Award, honoring Dr. Marit Korkman’s impact in the field, will be given for the first time in Jerusalem for the most outstanding student contribution at the Mid-Year Meeting on a topic in pediatric neuropsychology. We're pleased to announce the recipient of the inaugural Korkman Award — Ms. Sarit Rotem of Bar-Ilan University. Click here to view a PRE-PUBLICATION copy of the Jerusalem Program Award winners' abstracts.

The Nelson Butters Award: Sarah Rajtmajer
"Modeling Plasticity in Brain Networks After Neurological Disruption:
A Critique of Connectivity Modeling Approaches"
(S. Rajtmajer, F. G. Hillary)

Sarah Rajtmajer is the recipient of the Butters Award for her submission as a postdoctoral trainee. Click here to view a PRE-PUBLICATION copy of the Jerusalem Program Award winners' abstracts.

The Laird S. Cermak Award: Yoni Pertzov
"Remembering What Was Where, From Cognitive Mechanisms to the Clinic" (Y. Pertzov)
Yoni Pertzov's submission on a memory-related topic has earned the Cermak Award. Click here to view a PRE-PUBLICATION copy of the Jerusalem Program Award winners' abstracts.

The Phillip M. Rennick Award: Dror Dotan
"Breaking Down Number Syntax: Dissociation Between Naming and Comprehension
of Two-Digit Numbers"
(D. Dotan, S. Dehaene, N. Friedmann)

Dror Dotan is the recipient of the Rennick Award for his submission as a graduate student. Click here to view a PRE-PUBLICATION copy of the Jerusalem Program Award winners' abstracts.

Student Liaison Committee (SLC) Student Research Awards:
In conjunction with the INS Program and Awards Committees, the INS Student Liaison Committee recognizes these additional five students for their meritorious abstract submissions at the 2014 Mid-Year Meeting. Click here to view a PRE-PUBLICATION copy of the award-winning student abstract submissions listed below. The SLC Student Research Awards at the 2014 Mid-Year Meeting are supported by a grant from the American Psychological Association's Committee on International Relations in Psychology.

Oren Civier
"Reduced Fractional Anisotropy in the Anterior Corpus Callosum Predicts Reduced Speech Fluency in Persistent
Developmental Stuttering"
(O. Civier, V. Kronfeld-Duenias, O. Amir, R. Ezrati, M. Ben-Shachar)

Irene Huenges Wajer
"Relationship Between CT-perfusion on Admission and Cognitive Functioning 3 Months After Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage" (I. Huenges Wajer, C. Cremers,
M. van Zandvoort, M. Vergouwen, I. van der Schaaf, B. Velthuis, J. Dankbaar, P. Vos, A. Visser-Meily, G. Rinkel)

Monica Toba
"Neuroanatomy of Visuo-Spatial Neglect: A Game-Theoretical Analysis Approach"
(M. Toba, M. Zavaglia, F. Rastelli, C. Hilgetag, A. Valero-Cabre)

Naama Mayseless
"Modulating Creativity by Altering the Balance Between Right and Left Inferior Frontal Gyrus with tDCS"
(N. Mayseless, S. Shamay-Tsoory)

Hila Zadka
"Patients with Parkinson’s Disease Are Able to Learn in a Probabilistic Feedback-Based Learning Environment When Level of Uncertainty Is Reduced" (H. Zadka, H. Bergman, E. Vakil)